College Football Playoff Information and Schedule

football-83513_1280The 2014-15 season marks the first year that the National Champion will be determined by the new College Football Playoff system.  For those of you who have you been wondering how the new college football playoff system works, it’s really simple and consists of 3 bowl games played by the top 4 teams in the country as chosen by a selection committee.  The selection committee consists of 13 members that run the gamut from former coaches and athletic directors to reporters and politicians.  Some notable members include Barry Alvarez (former Wisconsin Badger coach and current athletic Director), Tyrone Willingham (former Notre Dame coach), Tom Osborne (legendary Nebraska Cornhusker coach) and Condoleezza Rice (former Secretary of State).  The committee will take into account win-loss records, strength of schedule, conference championships won, head-to-head results and results against common opponents to determine the top 4 teams in the country at the conclusion of the regular season.

The 4 teams selected for the college football playoffs will meet in two semi-final games – the Sugar Bowl at  the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans Louisiana and the Rose Bowl in Pasadena California.  Both semi-final games will take place on Januray 1st, 2015. The semifinal games will rotate among six different bowls (Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Cotton Bowl, Peach Bowl, Fiesta Bowl and Orange Bowl) which will preserve the rich tradition. The winner of each game will then meet in the 2015 College Football Championship Game to be held at AT&T Stadium in Arlington Texas on Monday January 12, 2015.

A college football payoff system is what fans have been asking for for years.  Although it seems as though most would prefer that more than 4 teams be involved in the playoff system, this is certainly a good start.  Depending on how things go this year, we could see the playoffs expand in the near future.

If the season we to end today, here are the teams that would be participating in the first ever CFB playoff.

  1. Alabama Crimson Tide (9-1)
  2. Oregon Ducks (9-1)
  3. Florida State Seminoles (10-0)
  4. Mississippi State Bulldogs (9-1)

For a current snapshot of the top teams in the nation,  you can check out the official rankings here.

You may also like...