Jay-Z’s ‘The Black Album’ has been mashed up with Smashing Pumpkins

2020 just got weirder, if that’s even possible.  Jay-Z‘s 2003 LP, “The Black Album” was just mashed up with a bunch of Smashing Pumpkins songs for a brand new album titled, “Marcy Projects and the Infinite Sadness.”  The album was produced by Spose, and uses Jay-Z’s vocals over Smashing Pumpkins instrumentals.  While the album title alludes to the SP 1995 album, “Melon Collie and the Infinite Sadness,” the mash-up songs are used from across the band’s career.

‘Marcy Projects And The Infinite Sadness’ was inspired by Danger Mouse‘s 2004 project ‘The Grey Album’, a cult mash-up LP of ‘The Black Album’ and The Beatles‘ self-titled 1968 LP, also known as ‘The White Album’.

See below for the full song list:

01 ‘Interlude / Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness’
02 ‘Change Clothes / I Am One’
03 ‘Public Service Announcement / Cherub Rock’
04 ‘Allure / Tonight, Tonight’
05 ‘Threat / Mayonaise’
06 ‘Encore / X.Y.U.”
07 ‘Moment of Clarity / Today’
08 ’99 Problems / Porcelina of the Vast Oceans’
09 ‘What More Can I Say / Hummer’
10 ‘Justify My Thug / Ava Adore’
11 ‘Lucifer / The Aeroplane Flies High’
12 ‘Dirt Off Your Shoulder / Eye’
13 ‘December 4th / Heavy Metal Machine’
14 ‘My First Song / Marquis In Spades’

You can download or stream the album here.

Billy Corgan, James Iha, Jimmy Chamberlin and other current members of Smashing Pumpkins will release their eleventh LP ‘Cyr’ which is out on November 27.

They have already dropped two new tracks recently, ‘Anno Satana’ and ‘Birch Grove’. ‘Anno Satana’ is accompanied by an animated music video that serves as the third episode of the band’s five-part animated series, In Ashes.

You may also like...